So, in order for us library employees to become more familiar with the services that offer audiobooks, we are taking the services for a test drive, so to speak.

SAPL offers two entities (??) that our patrons can rent audiobooks from. OverDrive and OneClick Digital. After looking for a couple of books, I have decided that OverDrive is the most user friendly.

On OverDrive I looked for Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain and The Duchess by Amanda Foreman. I found both of them with just searching for the title. The first title was unavailable for check-out, but the library does have 5 copies. The second title I was able to checkout. I didn’t check either title out (I already own one of these audiobooks, and just have a thing for buying my books), but the set up of the site was straightforward and easy to understand.

Now, in OneClick Digital I was unable to find the books I looked for (the same ones that I looked for in OverDrive). Then, when I couldn’t find them, I just went browsing and realized a lot of the books offered on this site were older books. Also, platform itself was just unappealing and ugly (sorry for liking pretty sites). Granted, it was simple and straightforward, so there is that trait working in its favor. But, that’s about it.

Leave a Reply

