Series 2, Lesson 8 Challenge

So, since I prefer to be imaginative than tech savy …. I choose option one for this lesson.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Situation 1:

In this scenario I am video conferencing with someone at central about a doing a fundraising raffle. The winner would get tickets to Book Con next year. Our busy schedules prevented us from meeting in person, but the video conference is great because at this moment we are throwing around advertising ideas and can show each other our ideas via the camera. Also, it’s much easier to talk to someone face-to-face rather than through text or email because we could mis-understand what the other person is trying to say.

Situation 2:

I am doing a reference interview with a patron Google Hangouts. This is a pilot program that the library is trying out to see if it is worth using on a normal basis; in other words, will the patrons like and use this feature if they offer it to them? So, I had a patron that connected and I begin to ask her what information she is looking for. Google Hangout’s IM feature was great for this because we could talk in real time, and I was able to send her links as I found them.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

In both of these scenarios it was much easier for us to communicate via Skype and/or Google Hangouts because in each situation I was unable to leave work, and the person I was speaking to was unable to come to the library. These technologies allowed us to still have a good and information filled conversation at a time and place that was both suitable for us.

However, despite it’s many pros and advantages, technology is not perfect. Several times my connection with the person from Central lagged so my screen (or her screen) froze and the voices of each sometimes cut in and out. As for my Google Hangout’s patron, I think our conversation took longer than it would have had we been talking face-to-face. This is because of the many pauses we took from talking to each others to look a the materials I was sending her, and deciding if it was relevant to her project.

But, despite these draw-backs, these two modes of communication are still very helpful and useful, and I would use them again. For work (whether it be talking to someone at central or a patron) and for person uses.

 

Leave a Reply

