Clearly, I am determined to read all the books on my extremely long TBR pile/list in a short amount of time. I started this little beauty last night and just now finished it.

Well, I read some of the reviews for “The Incorrigible Children of Aston Place: The Mysterious Howling” and I have to say I agree with many of the comments made – good and bad. Granted, I don’t agree with all of them, such as one that claimed the book’s ending was a lame attempt to prepare this book to be the first in a series, but I agree with the few that I read (that is the first few that pop up).

But here are my personal opinions of the book:

  • Wonderfully literary inclined book. I believe it’s a good book to get young readers (the book jacket says for ages 8-12, but pfft. Anybody could benefit from being lured into liking Dickens or Longfellow) interested in more classic literary figures.
  • The writing is very good. It’s not difficult, but it’s not silly dumb either. And it has that wonderful Romantic/Victorian/Jane Austen narrative that is just plain FUN to read.
  • It has some nice lessons and tidbits of wisdom in it. I know kids books are not particular clever in hiding the moral lesson they are trying to convey, but this book wasn’t trying to be clever. At least, not in that respect.
  • The artwork in this book is wonderful. It’s overly complicated artwork. It’s altogether accurate either (I people only have 4 fingers…) But it’s charming and lovely. And I think it would help, say an 8 year old to have a few pictures. Then again…who doesn’t love pictures?

I highly recommend this book to anybody that likes literary things, and who wants something that feels magical though it isn’t literally about magic. Also, I recommend it for anybody of any age who is looking for a fun read.

Leave a Reply

